100 Years of Slow Movements (1922–2022)

Duration 15 mins

And fiddled whisper music on those strings

Performed in the traverse in the exceedingly beautiful St. Vedast Chapel, the Navarra Quartet have especially selected out some of the exquisite slow movements of the last 100 years from the string quartet repertoire as f r a g m e n t s of music they believe should be carried forward for future generations.

Arvo Pärt – Da Pacem Domine ‘5
Caroline Shaw – Entr’acte ‘11

Thomas Adès – Oh Albion from Arcadiana ‘3
Jane O’Leary – 2nd movement from The Passing Sound of Forever ‘3
Samuel Barber – Adagio from string quartet Op.11 ‘8

Dmitri Shostakovich – Adagio from string quartet no.8 ‘5
Gyorgy Kurtag – Arioso ‘2
Maurice Ravel – Tres Lent from string quartet ‘8

Karol Szymanowski – Andantino Semplice from string quartet no. 1 Op.37 5’
Caroline Shaw – Entr’acte 11’


The Navarra String Quartet

The Navarra String Quartet


St Vedast Alias Foster Church

The Parish of St Vedast is known from the 12th century, and the church is traditionally claimed to have been established by 1170. It has been altered, enlarged and restored many times and probably rebuilt at least twice, the last time by Christopher Wren, after the Great Fire of London in 1666. Having been completely burnt out during the Blitz of World War II, the church was restored under the direction of its Rector, Canon Mortlock, and a very influential Parochial Church Council that included Poet Laureate John Betjeman and master organ builder, Noel Mander.

© fragments